Gene Cunningham - May 23, 2000

Living Sacrifice 30

"be not conformed to this world , but be transformed" (Rom 12:2) The law, and religion are the negative commands (Rom 8:3). Disciple means "a disciplined student off the Word (Mat 4:4, 2Ti 3:16). "blessed" is the state of the believer. "Blessed are the merciful" (Mat 5:7, Mat 9:13) -- compassionate. This is a state of blessing in spite of circumstanced. Compassion blesses the compassionate one (Jam 2:13). Compassion is a characteristic of Jesus (Mat 9:36, Mat 14:14, Mat 15:32, Mat 20:34, Mar 1:41). "Pure in heart" means cleansed within (Mat 5:8, 2Ti 2:21, Joh 15:3, 1Jn 1:9). "Blessed are the peacemakers" (Mat 5:9). We are ministers of reconciliation (2Co 5:19-20). We are witnesses. "Blessed are the persecuted" (Mat 5:10, 1Ti 3:16, 2 Ti 3:12). We are "Salt and Light" (Mat 5:13). Disciple characteristics make us blessed: possessor of kingdom, receiver of Divine comfort, reign with Christ, desires are fulfilled, receives mercy and called God's son. "But be transformed" (Rom 12:2) is passive -- we can only receive it. Negative command followed by the positive: examples: deny yourself (Mat 16:24); overcome evil with Good (Rom 12:21); lay aside... and put on (Eph 4:22-24). Religion has only has the negative and does not pursue the positive lacking the power, the Spirit (2Ti 3:5). We are to be transformed (Tit 2:10-13). "denying ungodliness" (a Christ-less life)... Attitude of most believers today (2Pe 3:3). Simeon is an example of Tit 2:13 -- "looking for the blessed hope, and glorious appearing of the great God and our savior Jesus Christ".

Scripture References: Matthew 14:14, John 1:9, Romans 12:2, Romans 12:21, Matthew 9:36, John 15:3, Matthew 16:24, James 2:13, Matthew 5:8, Romans 12:2, Matthew 9:13, Mark 1:41, Matthew 5:13, Matthew 5:7, Titus 2:13, Matthew 20:34, Matthew 5:10, Matthew 4:4, Titus 2:10-13, Matthew 15:32, Matthew 5:9, Romans 8:3, Ephesians 4:22-24

From Series: "Living Sacrifice (1995)"

Romans 12 and specifically Rom 12:1-2 is a pivot point between the doctrinal section and application of the book. This series methodically uses this passage to outline aspects or doctrines of the christian life -- God's provision and our prospect. Our lives can be acceptable to God if we progress on the path He intends. Living Sacrifice presents 12 doctrines: (1) redeeming time; (2) standing (positional truth); (3) self-presentation - availability; (4) approval; (5) service; (6) provision; (7) spiritual warfare; (8) conformity; (9) spiritual advance; (10) renewal; (11) divine guidance; (12) abundant life.

More From "Living Sacrifice (1995)"

Powered by Series Engine